We’ve talked before about obtaining your medical marijuana patient card in Missouri, and how to renew your patient card. Today, we want to break down the application process for caregivers in Missouri.
What is a Patient Caregiver?
Missouri’s medical marijuana program allows for patients to have a registered caregiver. A caregiver is allowed to purchase medical marijuana products for patients that they have been linked to in the case of patients being unable to travel to purchase products for themselves. A caregiver is also required for any patient under the age of 18. In this event, a parent or legal guardian is required to obtain a caregiver ID in order to purchase medical marijuana for the minor.
Missouri law allows a patient to have up to two (2) caregivers that can assist them with purchasing medical marijuana.
A caregiver in the state of Missouri must meet the following criteria:
- Must be 21 years of age or older;
- Responsible for managing the well-being of a Qualified Patient; and
- Be designated on the primary caregiver’s application for an identification card or in other written notification to the Department.
Primary caregivers are individuals who have been authorized by the qualified patient to purchase and possess marijuana on behalf of the qualified patient.
They may also be authorized to cultivate medical marijuana plants on behalf of the qualified patient.
Caregivers for minor patients must meet all the above requirements, plus the following:
- Only legal guardians or parents of a licensed minor patient may serve as their licensed caregiver.
- The legal guardian or parent that completed the Parental/Legal Consent Form in the minor patient’s application must serve as the qualified patient’s primary caregiver.
For anyone looking to create a minor patient application, we recommend Department of Health and Senior Services’ minor patient application tutorial. It’s a great step-by-step, visual guide.
Frequently Asked Questions About Caregiver Licenses
How much does it cost to become a primary caregiver?
The fee for a primary caregiver license is $25.00 for each license.
There will be a separate fee for each application to become a primary caregiver on behalf of a specific qualifying patient, and each application to cultivate medical marijuana on behalf of a specific qualifying patient.
How long are caregiver licenses good for?
Caregiver licenses are valid for one year.
How many patients can a caregiver have?
Caregivers can have up to three patients.
How much marijuana can a caregiver possess?
Caregivers and patients who do not cultivate may possess up to a 60 day supply or 8 ounces.
How to Apply to be a Patient Caregiver
To apply to be a patient caregiver, the medical patient must first complete their patient application and receive their patient number which starts with PAT and can be found on their patient card. Then the caregiver may begin their application, starting by filling out the Patient Authorization Form.
After the caregiver has a completed Patient Authorization Form, the caregiver needs to register with the Complia portal, then complete an online ‘new caregiver application’ through the Complia portal. For a full guide to completing the online application, check out the “How To Apply” guide from DHSS.
Once the caregiver has finished applying, the DHSS has 30 days to process all submitted applications, and processes them in the order they were received.
Apply For Your Caregiver Card Today!
At Flora Farms, we’re focused on one thing: making your patient and caregiver experience as easy as possible. You can stop by any of our three dispensary locations in Springfield, Neosho, and Humansville to discuss your questions about medical marijuana, the application processes, and more with our skilled budtenders or managers. We provide patient consultation rooms for privacy, too!
Medical decisions should not be made based on advertising. Consult a physician on the benefits and risks of particular medical marijuana products.
Interested in becoming a medical marijuana patient? Click below to learn how.